Comment on “Democratic, Christian America”

Anna, I really appreciated your post because I felt as though it nearly mirrored my own thoughts on the topic. Coming from a rather privileged identity, I never felt like I could fully understand religious oppression or its effects. More so, I was confused about how religious oppression could be an issue in a country that was founded on the idea of freedom of religion. I agree when you say that for those of us (i.e. me) who buy into the concrete idea of American freedom of religion, it is extremely hard to notice these violations. As I’ve looked into the issue more, I have begun to understand how religious oppression can manifest in ways that are hard to identify for those who are not directly affected, with “in God we trust” plastered across the federal currency as a prime example. Thank you for taking the time to write on this subject, because I think it’s important to try to ensure those of us who don’t regularly face oppression based on our religion develop a sensitivity to the subject. I think this is a great first step to ensuring more American citizens use their religious privilege to step up and say something when they see another person or group’s liberties in danger.

